Divine Mercy Sunday

When is Divine Mercy Sunday?

Divine Mercy Sunday is celebrated on the first Sunday following Easter Sunday.  divine mercy 2

It is placed appropriately next to Easter Sunday, because through Jesus Christ, we have received the gift of Divine Mercy. He who suffered and died to redeem us from sin, rose to life again after three days to bring us all the hope of new life. Our Lord has risen, so it is our hope also to rise from sin and death to a new life with God.

On the occasion of the canonization of Sr. Maria Faustina Kowalska, on 30 April 2000, Pope John Paul II has granted to the Universal Church the Feast of Divine Mercy. On 23 May 2000, the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments stated in a decree that “throughout the world the Second Sunday of Easter will receive the name Divine Mercy Sunday, a perennial invitation to the Christian world to face, with confidence in divine benevolence, the difficulties and trials that mankind will experience in the years to come.”

The Feast of Divine Mercy falls on the first Sunday after Easter. This is so proclaimed by the Pope and accepted by the universal church believing that it is what our Lord Jesus Christ had requested to St. Maria Faustina through a private revelation (From The Diary of Saint Maria Faustina Kowalska 742). 

On the said feast day, whoever goes to confession and receives the Holy Communion shall obtain complete forgiveness of sins and punishment. Deeds of mercy are also encouraged for every believer. 


Saint Maria Faustina Kowalska of the Blessed Sacrament, was a Polish religious who belongs to the Congregation of the Sisters of Our Lady of Mercy. She was born as Helena Kowalska. She is a Christian mystic and a nun. She claimed to have received apparitions of our Lord Jesus Christ and through  this, the Catholic Church was greatly inspired to establish a devotion to the Divine Mercy. 


Pray the 3 o’clock Prayer to the Divine Mercy.

3 oclock prayer to divine mercy


Facebook Comments

Leave A Response

* Denotes Required Field